I think you need to leave my head now

It’s been far too long

Days silently spread into weeks, weeks into months

Enough is enough

I wish this weren’t so tough

 

From the very first time I saw you, to now

Back of my thoughts, center of my world,

you’ve always been around

Shadows and whispers of you

everywhere in me to be found

 

I’m an adult now

Trying to be grown up and strong

I need my whole mind to think

of theories and ideas, stories and songs

Not to conjure up your image at every blink

 

But, soft kiss on a rainy night,

Your lips gentle on my hair,

Fingertips skim my back, ever so light,

The warmth of your hand over mine,

Some things refuse to quietly die

 

Do I have to forget you? But why?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

